FDI meets with friends and partners in Chicago

26 February 2014


The Chicago Dental Society 149th midwinter meeting, held in Chicago from 20 to 22 February, proved to be a great opportunity for FDI leadership meet with friends and members, in particular the American dental Association ADA, as well as with corporate partners.

In a brief address, FDI President Dr Tin Chun Wong acknowledged ADA’s continuous support of oral health and FDI through a special recognition plaque presented to ADA President Dr Charles Norman.

Generosity, kindness and warm friendship

In her brief address, Dr Wong said: "I wish to thank Dr Charles Norman, President of the American Dental Association for the generosity, kindness and warm friendship shown to the FDI.  On many occasions, you have allowed us to use your premises for our meetings and we sincerely wish to thank you for that.

The American Dental Association has a history of 155 years.  FDI was founded 114 years ago.  American dentists were instrumental in the formation of the World Dental Federation in 1900.  Without the vision and support of these dentists, FDI might not have been formed until later.

Dr Norman, you are the leader in the commitment to optimal oral health, not only to dentists in America but as the flag-bearer in this commitment worldwide. 

I hope you like this small token of our appreciation," conluded the FDI President.

Vision 2020 partners

The ADA event was also an opportunity for FDI to meet with FDI Vision 2020 partners and report on the remarkable progress towards developing an FDI online database for oral health indicators and on discussions taking place in the field of Interprofessional Collaborative Practice.

Meeting during the Chicago event, the FDI Executive Committee was able to review in particular the 2013 FDI preliminary financial accounts, which demonstrate that the cutbacks and management measures agreed in 2012 have had the desired effect, even proving to be more successful than anticipated.

The FDI Executive Committee: FDI President Dr Tin Chun Wong, President-Elect Dr Patrick Hescot, Treasurer Dr Kathryn Kelly and Executive Director Dr Jean-Luc Eiselé.

Share it